Manoir de La Saucerie | France Photo Spot

Share this Page
Manoir de La Saucerie by Nickanator
Manoir de La Saucerie by Nickanator
In 1198, Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine gave lands to Robert le Saucier, the bailiff of Domfront and kitchen officer of the English queen. Robert used the land to built a unique manor house. Throughout the Middle Ages the manor was expanded, until during the 15th and 16th century a miniature chateau was created as the gatehouse to the larger, grander main manor house. In 1860 a fire spread through the grounds, destroying the manor house and leaving only the gatehouse intact. The site is now surrounded by fields and grasslands, along with two small lakes that are the remains of its original moat. Besides the medieval chateau, one can find the remains of a bakery, a well, a grinding wheel and the remains of a 19th century house. The ruins of a barn, dating from the 16th century, are also on the site. (Domfront en Poiraie, France)

See More Work By This Photographer